You are here

WAMSI Governors

WAMSI is an unincorporated joint venture of the research member parties. Each of these members has a nominated Governor.

Governors provide input to WAMSI’s planning process, and annually appoint a Governing Board, including an independent Chairperson.

The University of Western Australia is the Centre Agent on behalf of the partners. It provides accommodation, administrative support and is the legal entity for WAMSI.

Recognising the complex interactions between the marine environment and the extraction of mineral and energy resources, particularly in the north of the State, WAMSI also has two foundation industry partners -

WAMSI Governors

Independent WAMSI Chairman Ms Naomi Brown
Australian Institute of Marine Science, Program Leader - NorthWest Australia Mr Hamish Jolly
Bureau of Meteorology, Deputy Director (CAWCR) Dr Peter May
CSIRO, Oceans and Atmosphere Flagship, Director Dr Kenneth Lee
Curtin University of Technology, Director Research and Development Mr Charles Thorn
Department of Parks and Wildlife, Director General Mr Jim Sharp
Department of Fisheries (WA), Director General Ms Heather Brayford
Executive Director, Office of Science, Department of Premier and Science Ms Fiona Roche
Edith Cowan University, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Prof. John Finlay-Jones
Murdoch University, Deputy Vice Chancellor Research Prof. David Morrison
The University of Western Australia, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) Prof. Peter Davies
Western Australian Museum, CEO Mr Alec Coles
Western Australian Global Ocean Observing System Inc. Dr Ray Steedman
ChemCentre, CEO Mr Peter Millington
Woodside Energy Limited, Principal Environmental Scientist Dr Luke Smith
Office of the Environmental Protection Authority Mr Kim Taylor

The member parties have contributed to the development and implementation of rigorous science, project planning and legal systems to support the management of a growing portfolio of projects across the six nodes.

Interest from potential new parties is welcomed.